How do I get my controller to work?

nyYanks876

I asked this to the techinical issues, but whoever it was said to post it on the boards. When I got madden, I got a nice less tha $20 controller that worked perfect and had enough buttons. There is no problems with it. Now I need to get it to work on MVP. It is called a "Gemini Vibration Gamepad". If anyone can help me I would appreciate it.

As far as I can tell, there are two main ways to get the game to accept 'non-standard' controllers....

The simpler one involves editing the controller.cfg file (found in /My Documents/MVP Baseball 2004) to show the exact name of your controller...you have to go into your devices screen and find out exactly how it is listed and then change the game pad description to that in the controller.cfg file...this method didn't work for me, I have a Thrustmaster Dual Power 3 controller....

The second method involves editing all the registry entries for you specific controller...I'm not going to go through the detailed description of how to do it, you can find that here or over at www.highheat2004.net/forums by doing a search for 'registry' or something...in fact, it might be a sticky over at hh2k4.net, I can't remember right now...basically you change all the references to your controller to read Logitech_Dual_Action, and then when you go to the game, choose Logitech Dual Action as your controller. It's a little more complicated than that, but those are the basics.

It took me a few days to get mine to work right, I had to do some editing of the controller.cfg, as well as using a key mapping program that came with my pad...It works great now, I love it.