Jump to content



Photo

Skin Tone Problems For 2K12 Players


  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#21 wudl83

wudl83

    Rookie

  • Modders
  • 650 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:baseball, soccer, beer and music

Posted 04 April 2012 - 11:57 AM

Well we only can edit "lighter colored" players with the editor since every dark player will be screwed up regardless what we wanted to edit. I also sent him a message some time ago but he wasn't online since a few weeks.
  • 0

#22 bangus

bangus

    Rookie

  • Members
  • 132 posts

Posted 04 April 2012 - 11:59 AM

Relax man, his editor is far from useless. It's also free so complaining is pointless, he could have just said **** it and not released one. If you have an issue with it just email him POLITELY and ask if he has time to update the skin tones.

You're overreacting to his comments IMO. I bought Ty's editor last year and used it extensively for editing player ratings. But if a person can't edit any of the player ratings without it causing this issue, then the 2K12 editor is pretty much useless at this point, until the issue gets fixed anyway.

Edited by bangus, 04 April 2012 - 11:59 AM.

  • 0

#23 wudl83

wudl83

    Rookie

  • Modders
  • 650 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:baseball, soccer, beer and music

Posted 04 April 2012 - 11:18 PM

I didn't mean that bad with Ty, I know that creating such an editor is difficult and time consuming. But like bangus says - what can we do with it? Every player who has not the white skintone gets crashed when we edit anything...
  • 0

#24 bangus

bangus

    Rookie

  • Members
  • 132 posts

Posted 05 April 2012 - 09:53 AM

I didn't mean that bad with Ty, I know that creating such an editor is difficult and time consuming. But like bangus says - what can we do with it? Every player who has not the white skintone gets crashed when we edit anything...

I'm still playing 2K11. I've been thinking of picking up 2K12, but when I read that editing ratings causes this issue, that was that. Buying the game without being able to globally edit player ratings would be pointless for me. There are simply too many player rating issues with the default rosters in 2K baseball that negatively affect the quality and realism of the gameplay.

Edited by bangus, 05 April 2012 - 09:57 AM.

  • 0

#25 wudl83

wudl83

    Rookie

  • Modders
  • 650 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:baseball, soccer, beer and music

Posted 05 April 2012 - 10:54 AM

That's right. I am going for a realistic roster for the pc version.
By now I have edited 4/5 teams from the NL West:
- accurate lineup and pitching rotation
- complete rating overhaul for fielder's and pitchers
- complete tendencies overhaul for fielder's and pitchers
- complete pitch type (with speed and movement and control) overhaul for pitchers
- complete clutch/peak age/durability overhaul for pitchers and fielders
- adding some guys to AAA who are on the official 40 man roster but not in the game
- adding some top prospects to AAA (so all AAA teams will get real players) with accurate ratings and pitch types
- changing every fake player's talent stars to two (for those who werer on AA or A )

Doing that for the Giants, Padres, Dodgers and Diamondbacks took me over 8 hours since I edited everything inside the game.
With a working editor I would have probably saved up to 2 hours less.

But lol...before those changes the game felt somehow subpar. By now I have played 2 test games (with Giants @ Dbacks and Padres @ Dodgers) and those were probably the two MOST realistic baseball games I have ever played.

This game would have so much potential, would there only be some enthusiasm at 2k for realism...

Edited by wudl83, 05 April 2012 - 11:10 AM.

  • 0

#26 MissionMaximus

MissionMaximus

    Rookie

  • Contributors +
  • 31 posts

Posted 17 September 2012 - 10:19 PM

I did a little testing on this to see if we could do a work around, made a green skin texture and inserted it one at a time into each texture slot in global- 167,169,174,175,178,185,189,192 After installing it one at a time I started the game and checked
only skintones 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11 showed up the green skin and skintone 11 seems to have textures 178, 185, 192
(all dark players) combined.

When I insert Green Skin texture into texture 178 all DarkestSkin (Black Players) appear in-game with green skin. When I insert Green Skin Texture into global texture 185 players with skintone like Adrian Beltre, Pablo Sandoval, Prince Fielder show up with green skin. When I install green skin texture into global texture 192, players like Matt Kemp, Kenley Jansen show up with green skin texture. The problem we have is all of the above players in the RosterEditor show up with the exact skintone of 11.

When trying to correct Darkest players (that gets messed up, when editing in Ty's RosterEditor) adjusting skintones does nothing, because all Black players are combined with the 11 skintone. I found that skintones 1, 3, 5 are mainly white players, while skintone 7 is mainly Asian players, skintone 9 is mainly Hispanic players, and then 11 is all Black players (light, Med, Dark).

We could adjust the global to make maybe skintones 3 or 5 which would be global textures skintone 3-167 texture,
skintone 5-174 texture but then we would have to correct the skintones of those players.

The following is what I found when running my green-skin test:
SkinTone 1 = 169 Global Texture

SkinTone 3 = 167 Global Texture
SkinTone 5 = 174 Global Texture
SkinTone 7 = 175 Global Texture
SkinTone 9 = 189 Global Texture
SkinTone 11= 178, 185, 192 Global Textures

Edited by MissionMaximus, 17 September 2012 - 10:37 PM.

  • 0

#27 wudl83

wudl83

    Rookie

  • Modders
  • 650 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:baseball, soccer, beer and music

Posted 18 September 2012 - 12:15 AM

Can't the global be edited, so that we can insert new texture slots?
  • 0

#28 MissionMaximus

MissionMaximus

    Rookie

  • Contributors +
  • 31 posts

Posted 18 September 2012 - 10:15 AM

Can't the global be edited, so that we can insert new texture slots?

Yes we can. Like I said we could assign texture 178 (Darkest Black) to either skintone 3(167) or 5 (174). Briefly going through Ty's Editor more players seem to be assigned skintone 3 than 5 with a sample of 38 players assigned either skintone 3 or 5 it came out with 27players with skintone 3 and 11players with skintone 5.
  • 0

#29 wudl83

wudl83

    Rookie

  • Modders
  • 650 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:baseball, soccer, beer and music

Posted 18 September 2012 - 11:32 AM

Nah sorry I did not make it clear what I wanted to say.

What we have now is 11 skintone options in the 2k12 editor which do not fit the colors of the game 2k12, because 2k changed the amount of colors from 2k11 to 2k12 and changed some numbers of the slots in the global.iff or where it is located.

I wanted to know if it would be possible to make new numbers in the global.iff so that the old numbers which Ty used for his editor in 2k11 and 2k12 would match again?

Right now we have some numbers in the global.iff that can't be accessed via editor because the editor does not have them band we have some possible numbers in the editor that can't be accessed because the global.iff does not have them. I was wondering if we could recreate those slots which are in the editor.

Your suggestion seems viable but to be honest I do not think this would be a good option since every new roster update you would have to reassing thousands of skin tone numbers again and again.

Edited by wudl83, 18 September 2012 - 11:33 AM.

  • 0

#30 MissionMaximus

MissionMaximus

    Rookie

  • Contributors +
  • 31 posts

Posted 18 September 2012 - 03:39 PM

Nah sorry I did not make it clear what I wanted to say.

What we have now is 11 skintone options in the 2k12 editor which do not fit the colors of the game 2k12, because 2k changed the amount of colors from 2k11 to 2k12 and changed some numbers of the slots in the global.iff or where it is located.

I wanted to know if it would be possible to make new numbers in the global.iff so that the old numbers which Ty used for his editor in 2k11 and 2k12 would match again?

Right now we have some numbers in the global.iff that can't be accessed via editor because the editor does not have them band we have some possible numbers in the editor that can't be accessed because the global.iff does not have them. I was wondering if we could recreate those slots which are in the editor.

Your suggestion seems viable but to be honest I do not think this would be a good option since every new roster update you would have to reassing thousands of skin tone numbers again and again.

Not that I can see. All the Textures from 2k11 Global have been changed, they either are unknown in NBAModTool, a different size as in 256 x 256 textures. The only one the same is texture 178. If only we could get an update with Ty's RosterEditor.
  • 0

#31 Tim Tone

Tim Tone

    Rookie

  • Members
  • 105 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 24 October 2012 - 05:10 AM

Vlad's Reditor can finally handle with it?
  • 0

#32 wudl83

wudl83

    Rookie

  • Modders
  • 650 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
  • Interests:baseball, soccer, beer and music

Posted 24 October 2012 - 05:31 AM

Yup. For my roster I first use Ty's editor to edit the ratings and after that I correct the wrong skintones with Vlad's editor. :good:
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users