Desktop power supply (want to upgrade graphics card)

NCMALEN

Ok, I've been reading many threads about different graphic cards, etc. as I have an Intel 82865G Integrated in a Gateway 510X desktop. All in all, I'd like to upgrade my graphics card.

My major issue is that I discovered that despite enough of a processor and RAM, that I only have a 250W power supply. Buying a new computer is not an option. Opinions wanted:

1- Do I buy a better power supply?

2- The FX5500 requires a min. 250W power supply. Being that I have 250W, is that enough?

3- Any other suggestions on graphic card models?

System specs:

Intel Pentium 4- 3.00ghz

1GB Ram

17 inch flat panel (DVI ties into this)

Thanks.

I had this same problem - Luckily I am somewhat smart on the insides of a comp so I bought a new power supply and went at it. I had a 250W supply and bought a Radeon 9800 pro so I bought a 500W (price was great). I got the same exact one sold in best buy for 100$ on ebay for like 20$. Heres the link:

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?sk...d=1108126220085

So look on ebay I saved tons of money and nothing is wrong with it or anything - And it was new and sealed.

Anyway as long as it fits into your computer (the screws line up) it is pretty easy to install. I had to drill into my computer case and make screw holes, but it fits fine now. Most likely you won't have to do that. Anyway it just screws in and then you connect the power cord to your HD, Graphics Card, Disk drives and motherboard - Or basically make a list of what you disconnect with your old one and make sure you just plug them all backm in - Its actually pretty easy. I never messed with anything like that before and I just did it fine with no problems.

the best thing to do if you're buying a new power supply- and don't know a lot about them is to compare them in person. you generaly want to pick the one that is heaviest and gives the most power outlets to connect everything.