.BIG Audio Files

tkrahling

Ok I would like to help lead the charge into this this year. Last year I was disapointed that I nor anyone else could figure out how to crack these files. This is where my modding forte lies, I used to do audio mods for the HH series. If anyone with more knowledge/programming expertise then me ( and that's not hard I fix Ricoh copiers for a living) wants to try to help crack the audio files this year we could open up a whole new facet of mods for 2005.

capt.jpg

Sorry but on a side note I just found this pic, man is Khalil Greene freakin Spicoli or what???

Yea the graphic .big files but not the audio, I even searched NBA and NHL mod sites that use the same files, no luck yet.

other games that use .BIG files, may search for modding sites on these games

Colin McRae Rally 3

FIFA 2004

The Lord of the Rings - The Battle for Middle Earth

the files seem to be a cousin to Need for Speeds ast & abk files

audio/cd/spch_pbp/pbpdat.big is the main compressed audio files. This files contains many smaller audio files (this would be similar to NfS's AST files)

audio/spch_pbp/pbphdr.big would be the index file for the main audio file (LIKE NFS's abk file)

also

audio/spch_pbp/pbpdat.off &

audio/spch_pbp/pbphdr.off

these seem to be the offset location for the different files in the main audio file

and

audio/spch_pbp/events.evt seems to be the events that triggers the audio files