Saitek P880

tks

Wondering if there any Saitek P880 gamepad users out there :?:

Just replaced the Logitec Dual Action with the P880 and it seems to be much more reliable...but I'm still learning some of the configurations and could use some help.

I used the typical installation not the advanced format...(want to first get familiar with the overall operation).

If anyone can help....I have a couple questions.

#1....Dual Action allowed you (built into the gamepad) to go to the options menu in MVP 2004 while playing a game by using button 9 which allowed you to make changes and/or quit. I know you can also get to the options menu by hitting "esc" on the keyboard.....but is there a way to program the P880 to get to the options menu?

#2....The P880 has a "shift" button allowing the user to double the controls available....Is the shift button active with the "typical" install or must you have the "advanced " mode installed to operate the shift button?

So far, I think it is more reliable than the Dual Action and a very good gamepad for MVP 2004.

Sure would appreciate any help from Seitek users.

I've got a P880, but I didn't do any of my configuration in the game, I edited all of the button settings directly in the controller.cfg file.

:)

Well, I'm about to enter dangerous territory.....Going into the "controller.cfg" file and see what I can re-program :!: :shock:

This really is dangerous territory for me since I don't have a clue on what I'm doing. :lol:

I have done some sound wav editing in other sims so I know the risk involved but what the heck.....Have to learn sometime.

Gonna use the Dual Action file as a guide.....and I sure as heck am going to make a back-up copy before I change anything.....Very wise decision on my part, don't you think? ;)

If you hear some frantic screaming in the distance you'll know where it is coming from!

snepp....

I do have one question before I get into this editing business.