Fifa 11 Thoughts

kgbaseball

Any of you been playing FIFA 11? I got it for the PC and I have been very, very impressed thus far.

After playing FIFA 10, I wanted four things from FIFA 11: better graphics, more fouls, better gameplay, and better player movement, and they nailed all four.

- The graphics are now much better. It's like playing a console game now.

- You basically had to break legs in FIFA 10 to get a foul called on you. Usually the harshest challenges would result in the opposing player getting up, and usually there was no foul called. In 11, harsh challenges mean the player will be either injured or get up very slowly, and you will surely get a foul called. They also decreased the amount of times a referee would play the advantage, which makes the game better - how often do you see advantage being played in real games? I'm no soccer expert, but not much, from my viewing experience.

- Gameplay is terrific. It's very tough to score, even on the lower levels. You've really got to be creative to score in 11, which is nice. My biggest win in FIFA 10 was 9-0, Bayern over Nurnberg on World Class difficulty. I don't think I'll ever come close to that in 11, even on Semi Pro mode. The biggest thing I hated about 10 was the idiot AI - every time the computer had the ball, they'd do one skill move and then promptly dribble right into a defender. It was so predictable and I'm glad 11 came out when it did - otherwise, I would've thrown 10 out the window. 11 changes that. The AI is more more efficient, using passes to their advantage frequently.

- The player movement is also much better. No more turning on a dime. The movements now closely mimic real human movement, which can only be seen as a plus.

Biggest disappointment for me from the PC version is there is no Be a Goalkeeper mode. I was REALLY looking forward to that, but they left it off the PC version for some reason. Maybe next year.

So, fellow soccer fans, what's your verdict on 11?