How to make custom audio in pamusic.bin sound like it's coming from the stadium speakers... Ish.

ElusiveEllie

I downloaded the MLB 2K19 mod recently, and the creator (who's done a marvelous job, by the way) has custom songs in the menu and over the PA system. I wasn't a fan of the style of music, so I made my own jukeboxmusic.bin. However, I noticed that the music in-game was still the modder's soundtrack!

I found in a thread that the sounds came from pamusic.bin and replaced the new with the original. However, I noticed something - in the original, all the music was edited to sound like it was coming from the speakers in the stadium, but the modder's version didn't have that at all.

I did a little searching and some trial and error, and came up with an... okay-ish way to make custom audio tracks that sound like they're coming from the speakers, so I can mod in my own music. Unfortunately, it's not perfect. I'm a complete beginner at sound design and have never done ANYTHING like this before, but I did some web searching and learned enough to make a PASSABLE version. I think the original has some sort of grain filter or something to give it a more tinny sound, but I just don't have the tools for it.

I'm using Audacity, the current version 2.4.2. It's free, so don't expect any studio-quality audio, but it gets the job done.

First, you (obviously) want to upload your song into Audacity. Once you have it loaded, you'll select your entire song, easily done by clicking anywhere in the little rectangle to the left hand side (with the Mute|Solo buttons) that doesn't have any writing on it. From here, things get a bit messy.

First, you'll go into Effect > Filter Curve. This brings up an Equalizer view.

71JrAp1.png

Click above 1000Hz roughly at 3dB, and click above 10000Hz at roughly -3 dB, as pictured above. I know, not exactly specific, but it gets the job done.

Next, Effect > High Pass Filter. Set Frequency to 100.0 Hz and keep Roll-off at 12 dB.

vDNlSqB.png