Wrigley Field Classic

paulw

Well, I started playing with this a bit and it's starting to come along fairly nicely. I told AlexTony in an email about it - it's so the 1954 Cubs I've modded have a place to play. It's kind of interesting trying to make what is a classic ballpark into it's "classic" version. Spent the most time trying to get decent ivy on the walls - I literally spent about 2 or 3 hours on this. The rest was a lot easier. Still have to work on the signs and a little more on the buildings. This is "just a little easier" than Ebbet's and Classic Yankee. It's really only cosmetic...

wrigley_classic.jpg

That's Cubs side-arming right hander Warren Hacker delivering a pitch to Gil Hodges. Ernie Banks and Gene Baker are at second and short and that's BIG Walker Cooper at catcher. Not visible in left and right field are former MVP's Ralph Kiner and Hank Sauer.

Paul, you are truly a credit to your race. And by "race," I mean, "the group of people in the world who share the name Paul." I rank you slightly higher than the apostle, just a little lower than Paul Winfield.

In other words -- I look forward to every paulw mod that comes out.

Pretty sure all the doors in the outfield should be colored red. I did a classic Wrigley for my 1967 season and all photos I found had it.

ceppywrig2.jpg

Thanks for the info, HCL! I'm sure your right on this. I want to take a look at my "When it was a Game' video. I'm pretty sure the scoreboard at one time was kind of red also. Not sure when though.

Eric - thanks - I don't know who Paul Winfield is. I'm guessing a musician.

Also, paul, along the foul territory 'high walls' (ala Bartman area) there should be no padding, just brick.

My PC doesn't work anymore, paul, so I can't pull up the game to take photos of the other things I did, or pull up the photos I found online.

The 'Budweiser' roof in righfield used to be white with a giant red arrow on it and the name of the restaurant or sporting goods store, I believe.