Mvp 2005 And Windows 7 Incompatibility (For Me At Least)

PaulH

Hi, and I'm rather new to the party of rediscovering this great game. I have an Alienware Aurora R-3 computer, re™ i5-2300 CPU @ 2.8GHz, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 580, Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium Edition, DirectX 11, VSync enabled, no mods, clean install, legit copy bought from ebay. Won't run at all. Tried running as administrator, tried under Vista, XP (SP's 2 and 3), just about everything. Right now I'm SOL. Any walk-through would be most appreciated.

Edited by PaulH

• 2 weeks later...

I assume it's installed as typical user? Will it even install when you place it in the cd-drive? When you click on the application icon, does the game screen attempt to show up and then crash? At what point is it crashing? Or are you just clicking on the .exe and nothing at all is happening? Some specifics would be a start to giving ya a hand. I am playing on Windows 7/64 bit and it runs better than in 2005, so I doubt it's your OS. Let us know.

I assume it's installed as typical user? Will it even install when you place it in the cd-drive? When you click on the application icon, does the game screen attempt to show up and then crash? At what point is it crashing? Or are you just clicking on the .exe and nothing at all is happening? Some specifics would be a start to giving ya a hand. I am playing on Windows 7/64 bit and it runs better than in 2005, so I doubt it's your OS. Let us know.

Good questions to ask to begin to find out what is wrong here. I hope he follows it. Also, he should try to run the game in Administrator mode. That could help too.